Understanding Serious Theft Charges in North Carolina

You can receive felony charges for certain types of theft crimes in North Carolina. The penalties for embezzlement and property crimes vary based on the value of the stolen assets and whether the person used a weapon during the incident.

Review the penalties for a conviction for various North Carolina theft crimes if you face this type of charge.


You can receive felony property theft charges if the value of the stolen goods exceeds $1,000. North Carolina also considers larceny a felony when the theft involves breaking and entering, the property in question is an explosive or firearm, or the stolen property was on someone’s person at the time of theft. These types of theft can result in Class H felony charges, which carry at least four months and up to 25 months in prison.

The state categorizes stealing motor fuel or gasoline as a Class F felony. A conviction can result in a prison sentence of 10 to 41 months.


You can receive charges of felony embezzlement even for stealing a small amount of money from your employer. Even embezzlement of property worth less than $100 carries up to 25 months in prison as a Class H felony. If the value of the stolen goods exceeds $100, a conviction could result in at least 44 and up to 182 months in prison.

In addition to embezzlement and larceny, you could receive felony charges for receiving stolen property in North Carolina. This charge applies to goods worth at least $1,000 if you knew or should have known about the stolen status of the items.

Request Your Free Consultation

"*" indicates required fields

I Have Read The Disclaimer*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Available 24/7 and Walk Ins Welcome